jump to navigation

Dieting on Vacation – Not Easy! July 4, 2011

Posted by Optifast Blogger in Second month on Optifast.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’m on the 4th day of a long Independence Day weekend vacation, and though I’m doing well sticking with the whole weight-loss program, it hasn’t been easy. Lots of driving, making it hard to get in the 10,000 steps I try to log each day on the odometer. Then on the second day I jumped into the river fully clothed and killed the odometer, making tracking even harder! Ended up away from the cabin all of one day with no Optifast product after 11 in the morning. Ended up having a salad with no dressing for dinner because I hadn’t eaten since 11 am and wouldn’t be back to the cabin (where my stash of product was) till much later. (First veggies in 2 months!)

And the cabin is built for wine and hors d’oeuvres and relaxing. It has a hammock, hot tub, luxurious and private 3-head outdoor shower, sauna, outdoor wood burning fireplace, redwood table for patio dining, you name it. I feel like the cabin is offended that instead of living here hedonistically, drinking wine from Russian River wineries and scrumptious baked goods from local bakeries, I’m living on my meager Optifast shakes and bars, like a Puritan in Shangri La.

Comments»

1. dizidaisy - July 5, 2011

Oh!!! Being away from home at such a crucial point in your journey is difficult indeed but whatever happens this week – you’ll be back on track as soon as you get back – I’ve also found that when I go off plan the following week isn’t so great – most often I stay the same – on occasion I have put on – but the following week always get me right back on track again! Remember it’s not how fast you travel – it’s the fact that you reach your destination that is important – enjoy your holiday – you deserve to chill out and have fun 🙂 xxx

2. Shonnie - July 13, 2011

I hope your holiday went well and that you didn’t get off track as much as I did with my vacation. It’s not that it is terrible to slow down, it is just so hard to get back on the straight and narrow … well it has been for me.

Dizi offers great advice and she is very good at doing what she suggests. I on the other hand stink at it! I guess I don’t stink too bad, because I have eating 2 shakes this morning and one regular meal. I am holding on to you guys to make it back to the land of dieters. 🙂

3. Optifast Blogger - July 13, 2011

Vacations are absolutely treacherous. Shouldn’t be allowed! (But they are so fun.) The important thing is to get back on plan, so good job. I have several more vaca’s coming up, and I can feel my willingness to stray off product increase as I get closer to transition AND feel a bit cocky over what I’ve lost so far. Dangerous!


Leave a comment