jump to navigation

Weight Loss/Weight Management Tips and Tricks April 14, 2012

Posted by Optifast Blogger in General weight loss, Maintenance.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I thought I’d share some of the materials and information from our Kaiser Optifast Support Group. Some of the material was provided by our group leader, and some by others in the group. The tips and tricks deal with keeping metabolism up (important both during weight loss and maintenance), and help with maintaining weight loss, including catching and stopping the “drift” when unwanted pounds creep back on. Many of these we’ve heard again and again, and are no-brainers. But they bear repeating, and even if you just give one or two a try, it might help.

Keeping Metabolism Revved Up

Things to try: more water, frequent meals, 7-8 hours sleep, daily sunshine, weight-bearing exercises, green or oolong tea, interval training, spicy peppers, ginger, oily fish (tuna, salmon), supplements/food-based nutrients (sufficient calcium and Vitamins B and C).

There’s research for all of these, such as the fact that fish such as tuna and salmon contain oil that increases leptin, a hormone controlling appetite. Or that peppers cause an internal calorie burn for about 30 minutes afterwards. And increased muscle mass, from weight-bearing exercise, can increase your body’s basic metabolic rate by up to 40%!

Things to avoid: high fructose corn syrup (HFCS); stress, excessive diet soda (guilty!), alcohol (ditto).

Similar research for avoidance items – for example, studies show (though this is somewhat controversial) that HFCS can make the body insulin-resistant. And stress raises the amount of cortisol in your body, a hormone which tells our bodies to hang onto fat!! (So my kids are not only making me crazy, they’re making me fat as well…)

Maintaining Weight Loss

Food-related: Things to limit: fast food, restaurants in general, high sugar/high fat foods, variety of foods (except in the case of vegetables), risky situations (buffets, happy hour, etc.), weekend “cheats.” Things to increase: fiber, vegetables, lean protein, availability of convenient meal replacement products, planned/portioned foods for the day or week.

Exercise-related: Try a group exercise or a walking buddy, use stairs instead of elevators, limit time in front of a screen (TV, computer), start the day with exercise or stretching, build exercise into your routine (park further from destination, take the long way, walk the dog, ride a bike, stand more than sit, pace rather than stand, etc.), keep gym clothes or at least walking shoes at work, in the car, wear and set goals for a pedometer like FitBit, etc.

Catching/Stopping the “Drift”

We were given a worksheet to complete, that started with “When I step on the scale in the morning, I expect to see ____________.” We were to fill in a weight or weight range that is our goal (this is for once you are in a maintenance or lifestyle phase). The sheet goes on, “If I see ___________ I will enact my early drift management rules:” Then there are rules on the sheet to be filled in by us.

So for example, I might put “When I step on the scale in the morning, I expect to see 140 pounds or less. If I see a weight over 145, I will:

Rule #1: Immediately go fill up my 32 ounce water bottle to start working on drinking more water every day until back at goal.

Rule #2: Stay away from any restaurant food until back at my goal

Rule #3: Prepare, pack or go buy at least 5 servings of vegetables to eat today and the next couple of days

Rule #4: Walk at least 45 minutes or go to the gym for the next three days.

Rule #5: Weigh myself every day until I am back at my goal weight, and then at least twice a week after that.

So this is a pre-made plan that is based on numbers you come up with, and plans you come up with, to stop weight gain and get back on track with healthy behavior. Give it a try and see if it helps!

 

 

Comments»

1. Bunpeal - April 15, 2012

I have been following your blog since I started my Optifast journey in January. I will be transitioning this week after being on full optifast for 15 weeks. I did not go through Kaiser but the medical facility I went through has a 6, 9, & 21 week program and I am on the 21 week program. I went for an extra week on phase 1 so I am very excited, eager, and scared at the same time for transition!

I just want to say thank you so much for your blog, it has been my guide, inspiration and comfort on getting through my phase 1 and will continue as I go through transition and eventually to maintenance. It was very difficult to find support online at some of the more popular weight loss blogs so when I found your blog I was jumping for joy! I still have a good bit of weight to lose but Optifast has definitely helped me get that boost I needed and I feel more confident that I can lose the rest of my weight (down 66 lbs so far, close to my first of three goals). Your blog inspires me that weight loss can be successfully maintained after the program. So Optifast Blogger, thank you again for your wonderful and encouraging blog, keep those posts coming!

Optifast Blogger - April 16, 2012

Congratulations on your successful weight loss! (Picture me jumping up and down, fireworks, confetti, the works!) That is absolutely fantastic. It is great to hear about how the program has helped people lose rapidly and either meet their goal or get that huge boost towards achieving a longer-term goal. Best wishes with transition. It isn’t a piece of cake (oops, bad choice of words LOL) but you can do it, after what you’ve already done.

And thank you SO much for your kind words about my blog. Can’t tell you how much it means!! I am happy to share my experiences and ongoing journey with weight, fitness and health. And hearing that it helps someone else is what keeps me going. Thanks again!!

2. sweetopiagirl - April 17, 2012

Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss! and commented:
Add your thoughts here… (optional)

3. dizidaisy - April 23, 2012

My drift almost turned into an avalanche lol these are great tips! Most people just think about shifting the weight – they focus so heavily on it that they don’t look beyond it – it’s almost like you think ‘I just want the weight off – I’ll cross the maintainence bridge when I come to it’ only it’s not a bridge… it’s a rope – swung between two canyons! Which is why this post is so great! We need to know there is something we can do and that we DO have to manage our weight! xxx

Optifast Blogger - April 25, 2012

Those danged drifts. Losing weight would be a cinch if that’s all there was to it!

4. living healthy - June 10, 2012

I’ve been reading your entire blog for the last 3 days. It’s like a good book that I can’t put down!! :)
I wanted to say about this week’s entry, that it’s one that REALLY speaks to me. I was on Optifast in 2009, lost 65 lbs….transitioned and lost about 20 more by taking partial Optifast, then resigned for the 9-wk program. Lost the rest of my weight (another 25) for a total of 110 lbs.! Very proud, very happy! Very healthy, off all diabetes meds!!
Enter 2011……
a very difficult year (surgeries, deaths, etc.), and over 12 months I regained about 30. :(
The information in this entry is CRUCIAL to keeping the weight in check! I LOVE the idea of writing down a pre-made plan to tackle the small gains before they become insurmountable again. I’m going to do just that right now….laminate it, and keep it in my wallet.
I have restarted the program to get the 30+ off (8 so far), and THIS time it will stay off longer than 2 years. I’m not doing this a 3rd. time.
It truly IS easier to keep it off than to get it off!! You just have to make some sacrifices and rethink your priorities.
Being healthy and looking/feeling better is your reward….and BOY is it worth it!!!
Thank you so much for your blog…please never stop. I feel like I know you already! :)

Optifast Blogger - June 10, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. I know it is much easier to share our weight LOSS stories than our weight GAIN stories. You have had a rough time but I am in awe of your perseverance and determination.

Thank you for your insights and wisdom about what you’ve been through and where you are going, what works and what doesn’t. There’s nothing like the voice of experience.

I’m so glad you are back on track and know that after all you’ve been through you will be one of those who makes it to goal and this time stays there.

I wish you all the best!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

